Adult Awards

The importance of adult awards is to recognise and celebrate the significant contribution of Scouters and others who support Scouting. There are various categories and levels of awards, to recognise various levels and extent of contribution and commitment.


Scouting Ireland encourages us all to ensure that members are recognised for their commitment to Scouting and are nominated for awards as appropriate.


Categories of Awards


  • Service Awards
  • Meritorious Service Awards
  • Honour Awards
  • Order of Cú Chulainn
  • Community Awards


Service Awards


Service Awards are bestowed on Scouters for length of service to Scouting in Ireland. There are specific awards to recognize 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 40 and 50 years of service. These can be applied for at any time of the year via the Scouting Ireland website, just complete the form and submit it.


The form may be completed online here: Nomination for a Service Award


Sample Service Award Citations may be found here: Sample Award Citations


Meritorious Awards


Meritorious Awards are bestowed for service above and beyond normal expectations. There is a Bronze, Silver and Gold Meritorious Award as well as the Chief Scout Commendation of Merit. These can be applied for via the database and must be accompanied by a citation.


Honour Awards


Honour Awards are bestowed for involvement in a rescue operation or for Scouting under difficulties. The level of award depends on the circumstances of the rescue or the special service to Scouting. They are applied for through the database and must be accompanied by a citation. Honour awards can be awarded to Youth Members also.


Order of Cú Chulainn


The Order of Cú Chulainn is the highest award Scouting Ireland can bestow on a Scouter. It is awarded for profound and long service to Scouting. It is applied for through the database and must be accompanied by a citation.

Community Awards


Scouting Ireland Community Award and Thank You Badge are awarded to non-members or to communities for service to Scouting or the Community. These awards are available to purchase from the Scout Shop and should be presented at suitable occasions.


Other useful materials


SID 16.04 - National Awards Committee

SIF 03.04 - Adult Awards - Nomination for Service Award